(false) Start

"Story of my life, man..."

“Story of my life, man…”

“Sister Mary Francis!  What the hell happened in here?!”

— Benny the Cab, “Who Framed Roger Rabbit?”

This was supposed to be a blog on living with adult-diagnosed ADHD.  I’d had some additional blogs planned for a couple of other topics (namely, politics and economics).  Maybe, at some future juncture, I’ll re-partition my writing so that those disparate topics find their own spaces to call home, but for now, I only think I can produce enough content to support one of these things.  If the slew of scattershot ideas starts to get to you, I apologize.  You see, I have ADHD, and my brain isn’t particularly good splitting and grouping thoughts in a conventional way.  Instead, my thought process winds up looking like an out-of-proportion splatter-painted nightmare, like Pollack meets Picasso meets PCP.  Somehow, I’d imagine a non-curated blog of my various thoughts and concerns is going to come with a similar disorienting quality.

That said, I’ll at least try to tag things so it’s easier to filter just the posts you want.  Might take some practice;  your patience and any feedback you may have is greatly appreciated…

Alright, what say we get into this thing?  I suppose an introduction is in order.

Hello, my name is John, and I’m a bit of a lunatic.  Maybe “lunatic” is a strong word.  I’m what a mutual friend would politely describe as “an odd duck” after a mildly-traumatizing blind date.  I’ve never quite been all there, and I’m finally starting to work out a bit of why.  A strong mix of Predominantly-Inattentive ADHD and chronic depression is apparently a recipe for a particularly strange and sorry existence.  Don’t worry, I’ll save the sad details for therapy sessions.  Suffice it to say, things needed to improve.

And in all honesty, I think they have in the last few months.  I’ve picked up several new strategies for dealing with day-to-day challenges, and started to dig down to the roots of some of my more peculiar and damaging neuroses.  While I think it is a stretch to imply that potential readers would care much about me personally, I do think the story is interesting, surprising, and maybe even a little informative.  With some luck and persistence, I might be able to spin it into something readable, maybe even enjoyable…

But, I don’t want to get ahead of myself.  If you happen to find yourself with a powerful urge to learn more about ADHD, its non-hyperactive variant, or its surprising relationship to depression and highly self-destructive patterns of behavior and thought, stop back from time to time.  Or, you know, if you want to know what a barely-college-educated carpenter-cum-grocery-clerk thinks about econ or politics…

Let me put it this way:  If there’s one thing I’ve learned in the past months and years, it’s that you almost never find the difficult answers, the ones you really need, in the obvious places.  Give me a chance;  I might just surprise you.  I do it to myself all the time.

Leave a Reply

